Motorcycle Education and Training Courses in Ohio

Motorcycle Safety Training Courses in OhioThere are nearly three-quarters of a million registered motorcycle riders in Ohio – more than the amount of motorcycles in 45 other states, according to in Columbus, Ohio. Today there are more women riders than ever before with about 40% females and 60% males registering for classes, the television news station reports.

The benefits of rider training are more prevalent than ever before as in nearly 80 percent of crashes, the rider did not receive any training, according to Motorcycle Ohio (MO), an organization run by the Ohio Department of Public Safety which provides several rider education courses. More than 180,000 motorcycle riders have been trained in the past 16 years. This is the only curriculum approved for motorcycle endorsement in Ohio.

Online registration for the Rider Education program began on January 23rd. Visit the website at register for one of the $50 courses scheduled throughout the state from March to November.

Starting in January 2017, MO will base its curriculum, including the upper level courses, on the Idaho STAR materials and the National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA) for State Motorcycle Rider Training Programs.

Areas Where Untrained Motorcyclists Need Assistance

According to the Smart Riding manual published by Motorcycle Ohio, untrained or inexperienced motorcyclists may not understand or may have not effectively practiced the use of proper emergency braking techniques. The manual states that untrained motorcyclists do the following:

• Tend to over-brake with the rear brake and skid the rear tire, or
• Under-brake with the front brakes

Smart Riding also points out that untrained riders do not know how to counter-steer or instinctively swerve around an object and often steer the motorcycle into the object they are trying to avoid.

Entering a curve at the improper speed is another primary cause of one-vehicle mishaps, the manual notes and claims that more than half of riders who crash have less than five months’ experience piloting the motorcycle they are riding at the time of the crash.

Requirements for Motorcycle License

A person seeking a motorcycle license must pass a written exam or knowledge test at any license agency or exam station to secure a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC), also called a temporary permit. With this permit, the rider may not carry passengers, must ride in valid daylight hours and may not ride on congested roadways or interstate highways. If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign for the TIPIC to be issued.

The potential licensee must also become familiar with Ohio’s Motorcycle Operator’s Manual and the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws. They must bring a street legal motorcycle to the driver license exam and wear a Department of Transportation (DOT)-approved helmet and eye protection. He or she must then take an Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) Basic Rider Course or motorcycle skills test. For those opting to take the Basic Rider Course (BRC), there are two choices—taking the standard BRC course or enrolling in the Basic Rider Course for the Returning Rider (BRC-RR).

The BRC is a 16-hour course designed for new riders and includes both classroom instruction and practice riding sessions. Students must have a valid TIPIC to take the class. Motorcycles and helmets are provided, but a rider can bring his own helmet if it is approved by the DOT. Novice riders are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet for the first year of licensure. Within 60 days of successful completion of the BRC course, the student will earn the BMV skill-test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement.

For the course, students must have the following gear: helmet, long-sleeve shirt/jacket, long pants, over the ankle sturdy shoes, eye protection and full-fingered gloves.

The BRC-RR is a shorter 8-hour course designed for those 18 years of age or older who have been riding with a temporary permit for more than a year, or riders who have 1,000 or more hours of experience. It is also a class for experienced riders returning to riding, with or without a motorcycle endorsement after several years of not riding. BCR-RR students must demonstrate basic motorcycle handling skills and have a temporary permit (TIPIC) to take the class or a motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license. Motorcycles and helmets are provided, but students may bring their own helmet if it is DOT-approved. Within 60 days of completion of the course, the student will earn the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) skill-test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement. The student must have the same equipment as that listed under the BRC course.

There Are Three Other Basic Rider Courses:

BRC-2 — A  6-hour, one-day, range only course. It has no classroom sessions. It requires a motorcycle license or endorsement and is suitable for newly endorsed or licensed riders. Students will use their own two-wheeled motorcycle and passengers are allowed. Passengers must be at least 16 years old and must pay the course fee. Riders must bring the same gear as needed for the BRC course listed above.

ARC — This 9-hour, one-day Advanced Rider Course requires motorcycle license or endorsement, complements an existing riders basic skills and helps with personal risk assessment. Students will use their own motorcycles and no passengers are permitted. The student must provide the equipment listed under the BRC course.

BRC-S — A 16-hour course for scooters, for novice riders, it requires only a TIPIC. Bring your own scooter. Helmets are provided. Successful completion earns the BMV skill test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement.

Insurance Responsibilities for Motorcyclists

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Ohio without insurance or proof of financial responsibility. A motorcycle is considered a motor vehicle.

A motorcycle insurance policy may include different types of coverage. One type is “liability” coverage. If you are at fault in a collision, liability coverage pays on your behalf for another’s property damage and injuries. If you purchase “collision” or “physical damage” coverage, this will pay to repair or replace your motorcycle in the event of a collision regardless of who is at fault. Many banks will require this type of coverage in exchange for lending the money to purchase a motorcycle. Your insurance company may also condition coverage on wearing a helmet regardless of what Ohio law says about helmet usage.

In Ohio, you are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance (property damage limits of $25,000 and bodily injury limit of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident). Crashes may result in which damages exceed minimum coverage limits. If the at-fault driver’s insurance policy limits are insufficient, the at-fault driver may be personally responsible for paying the deficiency.

Questions About Ohio Motorcycle Laws?

If you have questions about Ohio motorcycle laws or you have been involved in a motorcycle accident, please contact us at any time for a free and private consultation with one of our experienced attorneys. We can be reached by calling 1-888-534-4850, chatting with one of our 24-hour live chat representatives or sending us a website message.

Motorcycle Education and Training Courses in Ohio
Article Name
Motorcycle Education and Training Courses in Ohio
Motorcycle education and training courses in Ohio help promote motorcycle safety. Learn more about these courses and the requirements for a license.
Publisher Name
Slater & Zurz
Publisher Logo
Share Button

Speak Your Mind


four + 18 =